saw or axe

Posted by: quick_joey_small

saw or axe - 08/15/13 10:02 AM

Incredibly basic question I know but I'm a UK hiker so have never started a fire in my life. And I've ended up in Wales staying weekends at a mountain hut with a wood burning stove. There are logs to fuel it but I have absolutely no idea what is the best way to cut them up. Axe? saw? hatchet? will the wire saw in my possibles kit work?
I suppose a packet of fire starters will light them, or do I need paper as well? Or will making those feather sticks replace the paper?
qjs
Posted by: Outdoor_Quest

Re: saw or axe - 08/15/13 02:16 PM

I use all the tools mentioned.

An axe and hatchet are heavy and require some skill.

I'd use a saw while learning to use the axe/hatchet. You could use a baton and heavy fixed blade knife to split the wood.

Blake

www.outdoorquest.blogspot.com
Posted by: Jeanette_Isabelle

Re: saw or axe - 08/15/13 02:20 PM

I have no experience but this is what Doug Ritter has written on wire saws: “While much lighter in weight and much less bulky, wire saws, often referred to as "commando" or "SAS" saws, are poor tools that are only better than nothing at all. Fine if you want to include them in a pocket kit, but aside from that, a poor idea. They require more energy to use since they cut so inefficiently and are difficult to use, especially so with cold hands or with heavy gloves. Larger "survival" chain style saws work well on larger logs, but are useless on smaller limbs and quite heavy.”

This is what Doug includes in his Aviator Survival Pack:

http://www.gerbergear.com/Outdoor/Gear/Exchange-a-blade-Saw_46036

Jeanette Isabelle
Posted by: gonewiththewind

Re: saw or axe - 08/15/13 02:37 PM

Are you splitting the wood? Cutting sections? Are you hiking in with your tools?