Making Charcloth

Posted by: bacpacjac

Making Charcloth - 04/23/11 02:22 PM

I've never tried char cloth before and want to give it a try. I understand that I need to super heat the cloth, free of oxygen, but that's about all I know, except that cotton works best and to avoid flame-resistant materials.

Any tips or tricks?
Posted by: Blast

Re: Making Charcloth - 04/23/11 07:06 PM

I just cut up old jeans into Altoids-tin-sized pieces, pack them tightly in an Altoids tin, then set it in the fire. I have no set rule on when to take it out again, just kinda when it feels right. You can get a lot of patches from jeans so experiment some to develop the touch for taking it out of the fire.

Another trick our wonderful Hawaiian member taught me was get some cotton window sashing cord from Walmart's craft area and light one end on fire. Let it burn a bit then snuff it out. The black area will readily take a spark which will then burn into the unburned part (hope that makes sense). Once you have your fire going snuff the burning end of the cord. Aloha keeps his in a piece of copper tubing to help snuff it.

-Blast

Re: Making Charcloth - 04/23/11 07:49 PM

Thanks Blast!
Posted by: leemann

Re: Making Charcloth - 04/23/11 10:24 PM

I have used a copper pipe with end caps one cap has a small hole. To use place cloth in pipe (I use a alcohol burner) heat till no smoke appears and you're done.

Lee

Re: Making Charcloth - 04/23/11 11:10 PM

Thanks Leemann.

I've heard of putting a hole in the container before but have to admit that I don't understand why. Does it let oxygen escape?

Re: Making Charcloth - 04/23/11 11:12 PM

Blast, I've got some old blue jeans and am going to try the window sash trick too. Is there a specific fabric blend that's best or just 100% cotton?
Posted by: dweste

Re: Making Charcloth - 04/24/11 02:06 AM

Originally Posted By: bacpacjac