Alcohol Stove

Posted by: Outdoor_Quest

Alcohol Stove - 04/03/10 12:07 AM

I'd like to get some feedback on alcohol stoves. They seem like a good idea to have in a hunter's day pack. I have no experience with them.

So, could you give me your thoughts and if possible where to buy one or how to make one.

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Blake
www.outdoorquest.biz
Posted by: TeacherRO

Re: Alcohol Stove - 04/03/10 01:25 AM

a good primer zen stoves ZEN

more stoves stove info and construction

wiki Alcohol stoves on wikipedia
Posted by: hikermor

Re: Alcohol Stove - 04/03/10 01:49 AM

I carried a Trangia (available from REI and others) for years in my SAR pack. Its virtues are utter simplicity and reliability, reasonably light weight, sturdy, and its ability to carry its own fuel supply.

The zen page is a good resource giving you the skinny on the amazing variety of alcohol stoves that can easily be fabricated or purchased today.
Posted by: comms

Re: Alcohol Stove - 04/03/10 04:42 AM

I use a WhiteBox Alcohol Stove and it rocks. I did modify it by wrapping some kevlar cordage around it which will start the stove in about 1/2 the time. Denatured alcohol is super cheap and I carry it in a used water bottle with hash marks on it per ounce. So the fuel bottle collapses as it gets used up.
Posted by: scafool

Re: Alcohol Stove - 04/03/10 05:48 AM

Another resource worth looking at.
http://www.bplite.com/index.php
Also see Tinny's stuff at Minibulldesign
http://www.minibulldesign.com/

Now some personal observations.
Alcohol is good for light heating/cooking in reasonable weather.
You start to get problems when it is cold and windy.
You certainly need a windscreen.

Alcohol does not produce the same kind of heat that a pressurized white gas (Coleman fuel naptha) or kerosene stove will. This means you have to carry a bit more of it to heat up as much water or food.