GPS tips

Posted by: Outdoor_Quest

GPS tips - 09/14/09 05:23 PM

I am looking for GPS tips/lessons learned for my GPS classes. I have been teaching GPS classes in the Pacific Northwest for 10 years. I'd appreciate some feedback on what you have learned about using a GPS. I am not looking for product endorsements or discussion of what unit is best; just sound feedback based on experience.

For example. I recommend having just the minimal number of waypoints needed to do the job. I suggest saving important waypoints (from previous trips)on the share ware program from www.easygps.com.

For background on my classes and some great links please visit www.outdoorquest.biz.

Thanks a bunch.

Blake
Posted by: Johno

Re: GPS tips - 09/14/09 05:51 PM

GPS is an aid to navigation and not the be all and end all of it.

batteries run out, so always check them before using.

GPS navigates in straight lines, watch out for cliffs.

Posted by: Russ

Re: GPS tips - 09/14/09 06:04 PM

Quote:
I recommend having just the minimal number of waypoints needed to do the job.
GPS isn't much good unless it references to something. I see waypoints as the reference. If I'm on a road trip, my GPS has every waypoint along the way.

A waypoint that may seem unnecessary in planning a trip may be needed as events unfold. You don't know what you don't know.
Posted by: unimogbert

Re: GPS tips - 09/14/09 06:08 PM

If you enter nothing else, mark where you put the car.
Posted by: scafool

Re: GPS tips - 09/14/09 06:48 PM

What Unimog Bert said is vital.

I use GPS with a map for position fixes.
That means I am only running it for a few minutes at a time. Even at that I carry spare batteries.
Posted by: Grouch

Re: GPS tips - 09/14/09 09:11 PM

Originally Posted By: unimogbert

A lesson learned from experience? wink
Posted by: Am_Fear_Liath_Mor

Re: GPS tips - 09/14/09 09:22 PM

Make sure that the latest Firmware is installed on the GPS.

Make sure that the GPS Datum and paper map Datum are in agreement.