New Zealand: Input please

Posted by: Packman

New Zealand: Input please - 03/30/09 05:28 PM

Hello all,

Work will likely take me to New Zealand sometime in the next year to year and a half. I'd like anyone who's been there (and hopefully we have someone who's FROM there on here...) to please chime in with any impressions. My stay would be about a year long on the short end, with the potential to become a permanent relocation. Input from any pilots would be much appreciated as well!

A bit of my background:
-I'm a male in my 20's
-From South Florida
-I'm a pilot here, and will likely be working as a pilot in NZ

What I'm looking for:
-How are Americans recieved?
-Particular pitfalls/gotchas
-What to do/where to go
-Information on the Aviation industry
-Anything else useful

Thanks much! (Pics are appreciated too, if they're helpful)

Packman
Posted by: benjammin

Re: New Zealand: Input please - 03/30/09 06:34 PM

New Zealand is about the same socially as much of Australia. I worked with a number of "Kiwi's" while in Brisbane (Kiwi is what Australians call anyone from NZ. Although you might here that title a lot, don't use it unless you are on friendly terms with the person you are addressing. It's like calling an Aussie bloke and "Ocker", or an American a "Dumb Yank"), and they are all good mates. Americans are considered a bit of a novelty still down there, but it is getting better than it was. Learn to drink beer any time of day, be interested in Rugby and Cricket, and use a lot of American slang. If you can stand it, try and develop a taste for Marmite (as close as you can get to vegemite these days, thanks to our stupid import laws).

If you have a chance and you think you are into it, sea kayaking around the north end of the islands is really fantastic. Also, if you can chance to get any sort of hunting in, the red stag there are almost the size of elk, and it is quite an experience.

Fishing down there is going to be excellent.
Posted by: Dagny