Christmas gift

Posted by: spiderjim

Christmas gift - 12/16/08 04:28 AM

Hello all. This is my first time posting but I've been reading for a while. I'm trying to come up with a good Christmas gift for a couple relatives that have the same interests as all of us survival and preparedness. Any ideas would be great. I'm looking for something in the $50 rang, give or take a few bucks.
Thanks in advance and have a Merry Christmas
Posted by: Desperado

Re: Christmas gift - 12/16/08 04:44 AM

Originally Posted By: l33tYoDuh
550 paracord? (Chain looped)
Decent blade?
Match safe full of lifeboats? You and those Lifeboats
Dual photons each on separate keyring?
ICE list on Rite as Rain w/ pencil?
HTTP address to ETS w/ donation fund-age

Maybe the DR PSP . That way it allows a gift and a donation.
Posted by: dougwalkabout

Re: Christmas gift - 12/16/08 05:23 AM

$50 can go a long way. Basic tools, lights, clothing, firemakers, water storage ....

A trip to the secondhand store can get you lots of perfectly usable stuff plus a donation to a worthwhile charity.

Maybe include a "coupon" to help them build inexpensive kits and develop solid plans?

But it occurs to me that if they're already interested, the best gift isn't necessarily "stuff," it's "information."

How about some good, motivating survival-related books?
Posted by: Blitz

Re: Christmas gift - 12/16/08 10:49 PM

I'm getting my GF an AR, she hasn't said she wants one but I know that deep down she really does. wink grin That and something sexy, in black leather. smirk
Posted by: raptor

Re: Christmas gift - 12/17/08 01:11 AM

I donīt know if 50 USD is meant for one person but for one person that gravitates towards outdoor/wilderness/survival this is one of the many possible selections:

Fenix E01 - 15 USD (4sevens.com)
Energizer Lithium 2AAA pack - 8 USD (4sevens.com)
LMF Scout firesteel - 9.95 USD (campingsurvival.com)
WetFire tinder - 8 pieces - 6.08 USD (campingsurvival.com)