First Aid - My "Quick Clot" re- evaluation

Posted by: CentralOklahoma

First Aid - My "Quick Clot" re- evaluation - 07/23/07 08:24 AM

Okay. Here is the situation.

Four years ago my first daughter was born. This spurred me to evaluate my home, vehicle, work, and pack first aid capabilities.

In doing so, I upgraded to carrying several "Israeli Badages" (6" w/ sliding pad) along with "Quick Clot" blood coagulant in an effort to be all high speed low drag when or if it ever came to a major blood spilling injury.

My first aid training is limited to US Army combat life saver, basic Red Cross first aid / CPR (Infant to adult), and some additional bio hazard / blood born pathagen protection training.

Anyway, I have been carrying the "Quick Clot" stuff for 4 years now and while at work I was recently provided information from one of the local paramedics. He informed me that they (local ambulance service) had received information that "Quick Clot" was causing burns, and other complications such as post injury infections on patients. I believe these reports are from current military after action reports.

I had read in the past that "Quick Clot" did "Heat Up" but I did not know about any "Burns". The paramedic basically said the "Quick Clot" actually was cauterizing the blood vessels, thus stopping bleeding.

Once applied to a casualty, the pain from the "Quick Clot" is suppose to be very intense causing the patient to be un able to focus on self aid or any other task that may aid in the situation they are in.

So I conducted an experiment. I opened a package of "Quick Clot" and added "some" (1/4 cup ish) of water. The "Quick Clot" IMMEDIATLY began to pop and make noise and got VERY HOT. I would guess it reached 300 to 400 degrees within five seconds. I was only able to hold the package by its laminated edges. You could not hold the main portion of the package with your hands.