Survival in the classroom?

Posted by: Dave568

Survival in the classroom? - 04/18/07 04:12 PM

As a college student, I am slightly concerned about all of the violence in classrooms lately. I would like to start a discussion about some preparations that could be taken to help survive an incident similar to the one in Virginia Tech.

I will start the discussion by mentioning that in the backpack I carry to class every day, I have at least 100 feet of paracord. During the shooting in Virginia Tech, there were several students that jumped from the fourth story window and injured themselves fairly severely, but probably saved their lives in the process at the cost of only a broken leg or two. If I were ever to find myself in a situation where the door to my classroom was barricaded temporarily, I would strongly consider tying the paracord to a large, sturdy object such as a large desk, and abseiling down to (hopefully) safety.

What do other people have to say about this idea, and more generally, other classroom violence preparations?
Posted by: billym

Re: Survival in the classroom? - 04/18/07 04:42 PM

Although the shootings at VTech are horrible. I would not jump to a conclusion that you are not safe in school or anywhwere else in general.
This was a rare incident that when in the news seems to be much more widespread than it really is. In reality the odds of getting hit by lightning are not much different.
Always be aware of what is happening around you and you will be safe 99.99% of the time. You can't really prepare for a 1 in a million event like Monday's horror.
I always say you can't live life worrying about sharks and lightning.
Posted by: terry13111

Re: Survival in the classroom? - 04/18/07 04:59 PM