Dessicant versus Oxygen Absorber

Posted by: brandtb

Dessicant versus Oxygen Absorber - 11/08/20 03:08 PM

I have several handguns/mags for which I have no immediate need. I have stored these in plastic ammo cans with a rubber seal. They were well oiled and placed in the cans with a large amount (about 8 oz) of silica desiccant powder. The silica is in a small plastic container (with holes drilled in the lid) inside the ammo can.

A quick check of Amazon shows oxygen absorbers from 100cc up to 3000cc. I have no experience with oxtgen absorbers. Would they be better than silica, or possibly in addition to? Any suggestions?
Posted by: M_a_x

Re: Dessicant versus Oxygen Absorber - 11/08/20 03:23 PM

Desicant should be enough. When there is no moisture the steel should not corrode. Car wax might have been a better choice for coating as it does not tend to collect dust and allows handling without getting oily fingers.
Oxygen absorbers are usually in use for food storage where the oxygen remaining in the container may cause some loss in quality.

Re: Dessicant versus Oxygen Absorber - 11/08/20 03:43 PM

Thanks for the response, Max.

I love your signature - it's so true.
Posted by: NAro

Re: Dessicant versus Oxygen Absorber - 11/08/20 06:15 PM

FWIW... I find Rig or Break-Free COLLECTOR to be a much better choice than oil for long term storage. Rig is a grease, and messy. Break-free collector (the collector version, not the regular break-free) is a spray. I like the spray because 1) I can apply it liberally everywhere..even into parts I don't want to disassemble, and 2) you can easily clean it off with regular break-free or a solvent...and can even operate the weapon without cleaning it off if you have to. Additionally, after spraying the firearm I wrap it in parchment paper (you can get it in most grocery stores - and it is silicone impregnated). I have handguns I've stored this way for 10+ years and they're as as good as they were when I put them away. YMMV