lightweight two person bivybag

Posted by: Tjin

lightweight two person bivybag - 07/02/10 05:05 AM

Does anyone know a lightweight bivybag for two persons? I got the heavy nylon coated one, but that one is big and heavy. I also got a two AMK heatsheets bivy's, but they are just for one person.

It is just for emergency's so it doesn't have to last more than a few days. Weight and size is a big issue for me.
Posted by: ducktapeguy

Re: lightweight two person bivybag - 07/02/10 05:43 AM

Oware makes a two person bivy. I have no experience with it, but I assume it's like all other bivy's, just bigger. Weight and size aren't unreasonable, can't say the same about cost.

http://www.owareusa.com/
Posted by: Richlacal

Re: lightweight two person bivybag - 07/02/10 06:02 AM

How about one of those lightweight Tube tents from campmor.com or the Large orange trashbags from bepreparedtosurvive.com.I have 2 of the trashbags,they are bright orange,aprox.60"x30"x4mil.thick or possibly a Dutch Military Poncho from Sportsmans Guide

Re: lightweight two person bivybag - 07/02/10 07:55 AM

I will be using it for mountainering, so a tube tent or poncho is not a option. I want a really small, affordable two person bivybag. The lack of extra clothing and sleeping bags, means keeping each other warm is importent.

The Oware one looks ok, but the price is a bit to high.

Re: lightweight two person bivybag - 07/04/10 05:17 AM

No Kidding on this one,How about a Military Body bag?They are usually as tough as nails,Rip-stop waterproof Nylon with Very Heavy-Duty Zippers,Some even come with Strap handles,of which you could incorporate in your rigging,so as to sleep suspended if you had to,& They come in many different sizes as well,& The Best part,Very Affordable!Just don't eat any Beans,otherwise the intended use of such may fall to it's primary purpose,lol! Throw in a Lightweight Poncho liner,& I'd think you&yours will be Well off!
Posted by: codyjack