Book of knots

Posted by: Lqdtrance

Book of knots - 02/20/10 11:06 PM

Can any of you suggest a good book on knots? I need to refresh myself and learn more. Thanks.
Posted by: hikermor

Re: Book of knots - 02/21/10 12:03 AM

My favorite, for technical applications pertaining to caving, SAR, and the like is "On Rope" by Bruce Smith and Allen Padgett, published by the National Speleological Society.

The classic nautical reference is Marlinspike Seamanship. I can't find my copy and I can't recall the author.but it is very comprehensive, especially if you want to rig a four masted schooner.

Any particular application that you had in mind? That would help us recommend the best reference.

Re: Book of knots - 02/21/10 12:25 AM

Just for basic knowledge. I am studying to be a wilderness guide. Not sure if I plan on Mountain climbing. I am going to take courses at my local college. The courses I am taking are - Fundamentals of back country living, Eastern Mountaineering, River safety and swift water rescue, Wilderness first responder and Adventure sports management. I plan on taking more but I am late as they are winter courses.
Posted by: Art_in_FL

Re: Book of knots - 02/21/10 12:26 AM

The great granddaddy of them all is "The Ashley Book of Knots" by Clifford W. Ashley. I have a copy and think anyone who seriously uses knots should at easy have easy access to a copy.

That said it is not necessarily the handiest book to learn knots from. Terminology is variable, knots, even quite familiar ones, are hard to look up because the names and designations are confusing. It is also fairly expensive at $65 list price. But it is considered to be the bible of knots and is considered a standard reference on the subject.