Alcohol stoves in sub freezing temps

Posted by: oldsoldier

Alcohol stoves in sub freezing temps - 12/30/09 04:28 PM

I used to be a regular winter hiker, but have slowly turned into more of a warm weather one (I think getting older did that to me!!). When I used to hike, climb, etc, in the winter, we used strictly white gas stoves. I have long since sold or given mine away, and currently have only isopro stoves, that dont work well in below freezing temps, or alcohol stoves, which I have no FIRST HAND experience with.
All research online indicates they are capable of working around greezing temps. My issue is, being in New England, we often have sub zero weather in the colder months. I am wondering if, for instance, I WERE to go camping in the insanely cold weather, would an alcohol bring water to a boil? I understand that it would need more fuel, but, has anyone used one in 0 degree weather? If so, what were your experiences? Does keeping the alcohol warm make a difference? I am looking for personal experiences with this. I have only been playing with alcohol stoves for a couple years, and still have a hard time separating myself from my gear-centric stoves smile
Posted by: frediver

Re: Alcohol stoves in sub freezing temps - 12/30/09 04:41 PM

Not really sure on the Alcohol stove winter heating ability but my first thought would be to make my iso stove work instead.
Why not attach a toe heater pad to the tank, insulate the base
from the ground and use a heat reflector/wind screen to help heat your grub And the fuel tank?
Posted by: Northerner

Re: Alcohol stoves in sub freezing temps - 12/30/09 04:55 PM

Here is the best review i have found on differnt stoves in freezing weather.

And is short the alcohol stove works but is not optimal

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/showthread.php?t=25042&highlight=Stove
Posted by: Am_Fear_Liath_Mor

Re: Alcohol stoves in sub freezing temps - 12/30/09 05:39 PM

Quote: