Watches?

Posted by: Markok765

Watches? - 02/22/09 05:44 PM

What watches do you wear? Why did you choose that one?
Posted by: CSG

Re: Watches? - 02/22/09 05:57 PM

I'm a WIS so I have many watches but the two I wear the most are a Rolex SS Sub date and SS GMT II. Both are rugged, accurate, easy to read, and self-winding.
Posted by: Desperado

Re: Watches? - 02/22/09 06:04 PM

Pardon me while I show my ignorance...

What is a WIS?
Posted by: DrmstrSpoodle

Re: Watches? - 02/22/09 06:12 PM

I'm not really a watch expert, but the kind I've been wearing for over a year, and what I've been happy with, is a cheap Coleman NightSight model.

It's got a big face, luminous hands, and a light button that isn't too bright and fades out nice and easy after a few seconds. Pretty nice for when I'm in the dark and lonely parts of the factory I work at. Simple, easy to use, and at about 20 bucks at Target certainly within everyone's budget.

I'm open to seeing what everyone else wears and what they can suggest to others, too. Knowing the Coleman can't last forever, I may be in the market to look for a watch that's more reliable... cool
Posted by: MedB

Re: Watches? - 02/22/09 06:53 PM

Just to head this off at the pass...

Before someone makes the comment about why Rolex etc? Remember that fine watches, like custom knives etc are one of those things where, at a certain point, you stop paying for better performance.

The fact of the matter is, a true masterpiece of a custom knife will not cut any better, nor will a fine watch tell the time any better, than it's cheaper counterparts. But the satisfaction from owning something handcrafted, the pride of owning something that's "best of breed", and the appreciation of true master craftsmanship keep these sorts of products perpetually in demand.