fire pistons: good vs. bad

Posted by: colorsafe

fire pistons: good vs. bad - 02/04/09 03:36 AM

just started poking around here. so i'm sure this topic has probably been around before...

~anyone have any experience with fire pistons?

~good or bad experience? pros and cons?

~can you get good results with practice, or does it need more optimal conditions to work consitently.

~how long before the o-rings go bad? (or should i stay with the old school thread seal system?)

Posted by: OldBaldGuy

Re: fire pistons: good vs. bad - 02/04/09 04:18 AM

Welcome Newguy!

You are correct, the topic has been around a few times. I have no personal experience with one, so can't give you any info, sorry...
Posted by: aloha

Re: fire pistons: good vs. bad - 02/04/09 04:24 AM

I received a fire piston as a gift and I find my particular one to be among my least reliable methods to make a fire. But that is my experience only and ymmv.

For me, even flint and steel is faster and more reliable.

My fire piston would be slightly faster than friction fire. But I am new to it and haven't practiced very much with it.

Re: fire pistons: good vs. bad - 02/04/09 04:51 AM

thanks for that.

i think i'll just get the stripped down model to play with.

Aloha, what kind of starter tinder were you using? does yours have o-rings?
Posted by: Tjin

Re: fire pistons: good vs. bad - 02/04/09 05:14 AM

it's a nice toy, but i don't find them practical. You have to use a tiny anmount of tinder in the piston, it's fairly unreliable in lighting tinder, the coals is always tiny, you need to keep the seals lubricated. For survival use, go for the good old ferrosium rod.
Posted by: paramedicpete

Re: fire pistons: good vs. bad - 02/04/09 01:44 PM

Here is an older thread with my experiences:

Fire Piston

Pete
Posted by: Stoney

Re: fire pistons: good vs. bad - 02/04/09 04:20 PM