Nother Q about survival knife

Posted by: Chisel

Nother Q about survival knife - 10/21/08 08:13 AM

I am looking for a "sharpened prybar" for utility /survival

The knife should be a bit thick and have a tanto head with a FULL straigh blade and a FULL saw on the other side.

I need it for times of trouble, to dig, cut limbs and other chores. If it is not great for skinning a small rabbit, well, I am not that good at butchering anyway.

Have you seen anthing like this ?
Posted by: Rodion

Re: Nother Q about survival knife - 10/21/08 08:15 AM

Jungle Primitive?

Posted by: RainHiker

Re: Nother Q about survival knife - 10/21/08 09:05 AM

US Navy MK3

You can find these military surplus knives for around $60 had mine for years, managed to chip the tip a little when I hit a rock, but it is really thick & heavy. The top has of the handle has thick chunk of metal to hammer on/with. Sorry to say that I haven't used the saw for much, I carry a pocket chain saw blade for that. Hard for the novice (ME) to sharpen.
Posted by: BillLiptak

Re: Nother Q about survival knife - 10/21/08 10:26 AM

Look at TOPS knives. They have more than a few that will fit your bill.

-Bill Liptak
Posted by: Tom_L

Re: Nother Q about survival knife - 10/21/08 10:47 AM

Unless you have some very specific task in mind I daresay you will be disappointed with any knife like that. IMHO a knife should first and foremost be good at cutting. A beefy blade with a thick profile just plain sucks at that.

Second, you can put mean looking teeth on the back but if the blade is too short and thick (any kind of knife blade is generally too thick for a saw, let alone the "sharpened prybar" type) you will end up with a miserable saw.

Third, no knife is much good as a shovel. If you attempt to do any serious digging you will quickly ruin the edge, possibly snap the point. Plus it will take you a while to dig a hole of any size, many times slower than even a small shovel.