Kerlix/ fake kerlix question

Posted by: climberslacker

Kerlix/ fake kerlix question - 06/22/08 03:59 AM

Hey, first off, we seriously need to get a first aid section!

Now, I found a source for kerlix type guaze at only 89 cents and was wondering if it is any good, as it is in my kit right now. Is there a reason why it is so much cheaper that I just don't get?

HELP!!!
Posted by: JohnE

Re: Kerlix/ fake kerlix question - 06/22/08 04:06 AM

Hi Climberslacker,

New guy here but I think I can answer your question. I'm an EMT and use a fair amount of Kerlix and non-branded gauze wrap. The only difference I've seen is the price. Something that a lot of people forget is that first aid supplies are only meant to be used as a first reponse item, they're not meant to last like a hospital dressing would. Not to mention, that if you use it in a truly emergent situation, when your patient gets to the ER, they're gonna tear all that bandaging right off anyway.

I work as a set medic on film and television sets and buy all of my own supplies, I find a lot of stuff at the .99 cent store works just fine.

Other stuff that I use from there, vet wrap, that's the stuff that works like an elastic bandage that sticks to itself. Elastic bandages, can't beat it for the price. Lip balm, sunscreen, hand lotion, etc. I always check the expiration dates and the contents of any medical stuff, so far I haven't any problems with any of the things I get there.

John E.

Re: Kerlix/ fake kerlix question - 06/22/08 04:09 AM

Yeah, that is the site that I got 95% of the stuff for my troops FAK (a scout is thrifty) and it seems to be great! Like ace wraps for 85 cents or something like that!

Welcome Newguy! I love to have EMT's and other people who are well trained and experienced! I hope to learn a lot from you and that you learn a lot from us!
Posted by: JohnE

Re: Kerlix/ fake kerlix question - 06/22/08 04:25 AM