Multi-tool thread#546456

Posted by: Rodion

Multi-tool thread#546456 - 04/29/08 01:57 PM

Hi. This is my first post around here, though I've been visiting for a while. I am a college student from Israel and I found ETS in my emergency preparedness research.

One of the things I learned (or got the impression of being true) from Doug's musings, is that no BoB is complete without a multi-tool. Having a Victorinox Atlas backing up my multi-tool wing, I feel I can compromise somewhat. If not on quality (never!!!), then at least size.

After some extensive Googling and harrassement of store clerks, here are my alternatives:

Leatherman Kick:

+ Feels Godly in hand, long philips, non-locking blades make it legal for every-day carry in Israel (yep, we're that kind of place)

- Lacks saw, scissors.

Leatherman Wave:

+ Almost as small as the Kick, highly recommended by all.

- Lacks metal saw, as far as I know.

Gerber Legend 800:

+ Has all the tools I need, feels absolutely indestructible.

- Slightly oversized, not a Leatherman.

Help!
Posted by: OldBaldGuy

Re: Multi-tool thread#546456 - 04/29/08 02:00 PM

Welcome Newguy!!!

I guess I should have mentioned my Leatherman Wave, which I EDC and use a jillion time a day...
Posted by: steelie

Re: Multi-tool thread#546456 - 04/29/08 02:05 PM

i don't go anywhere without my charge TTi
Posted by: Blast

Re: Multi-tool thread#546456 - 04/29/08 02:08 PM

Welcome newguy! I carry a Leatherman Kick at work every day and a Leatherman Wave everywhere else. I use the Kick at work as its cheaper and I use it to cut tubing and repair equipment that is coated in crude oil and assorted nasty chemicals. I wish the Kick had a scissors but the knife blade handles most cutting jobs I encounter.