The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#261111 - 06/04/13 01:35 AM 10 essentials prep by NH hikers
nursemike Offline
Old Hand

Loc: wellington, fl
Appalachian Mountain Club reports spotty compliance with 10 essential wisdom here.

I have limited experience in NH, but the White Mountains seem much more challenging than the Greens or Adirondacks. I guess the doomsday prepper/zombie apocalypse/ survival TV initiatives have not performed well in educating the young folks.

#261112 - 06/04/13 04:26 AM Re: 10 essentials prep by NH hikers [Re: nursemike]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
I think you would get similar results out here in the far West. The results might also vary with the type of trips taken from the trail head - those giving access to longer trips might find users more fully equipped.

Actually, 20% more or less fully equipped isn't too bad. I have seen victims miles back along a trail with absolutely nothing.

#261123 - 06/04/13 04:27 PM Re: 10 essentials prep by NH hikers [Re: nursemike]
TeacherRO Offline
Carpal Tunnel

One thing that i find helps is keeping a day pack packed with equipment -- just add water.

Teacher

Aslo, classes help...

#261125 - 06/04/13 04:37 PM Re: 10 essentials prep by NH hikers [Re: TeacherRO]
ILBob Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Northern IL
oddly the least important (extra food) seems to be the most commonly carried item.

personally, I have never been completely sold on the ten best type lists.

Bob

#261126 - 06/04/13 05:54 PM Re: 10 essentials prep by NH hikers [Re: ILBob]
JerryFountain Offline
Addict

Loc: St. Petersburg, Florida
Originally Posted By: ILBob
personally, I have never been completely sold on the ten best type lists.

Bob,