Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#39151 - 03/21/05 03:52 PM Safety advice please?
ChristinaRodriguez Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Rhode Island
This post has nothing to do with survival preparation, just safety. I'm hoping that with all the smart heads in this forum, you could let me know if I'm doing the right things to protect myself.

I'm being faced with an uncomfortable online situation that I believe has the potential to get worse. As a professional illustrator, I have a website to promote my work to art directors and other potential clients. For the last six months, however, the most frequent visitor to my site has no reason for being there. I've determined who this individual is, and for better or worse I've known her personally and experienced what she is capable of. The volume of these visits disturbes me: almost everyday, and sometimes more than once in a day. I’ve not spoken to this individual for the last 3 years, and her previous attempt to contact me (which was malicious) has gone unanswered. I understand that she has done nothing illegal thus far.

What I’ve done since this behavior became apparent was remove all methods of contact except my email address from my professional website, college alumni directory, and other art websites. This forum is the only one of which I am a member. I do not have a site that broadcasts my personal life. I’ve requested that my fiancé and family members do the same.

Since my fiancé and this individual both live in the same state, I’m concerned that once I marry and move up there, this situation could get worse. What else can I do to protect myself once I move, but not cut my accessibility to clients (or friends)? Should I block this individual from viewing my webpage? Or do you think that would incite other activity? Is blocking a user even legal?

I hope that this post is not too off-topic. Any advice would be very much appreciated.