The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#299745 - 08/17/21 11:55 PM Special Ed teacher needing neck survival kits
jshannon Offline
Addict

Loc: North Texas
A guy on a backpacking forum has asked the below. I recommended visiting this site so maybe he will chime in.

"Hi, I’m a Special Ed teacher at a small school on the edge of the Bristol Bay in Alaska. In the winter we sometimes travel by snow-go(snowmobile) or single engine planes. My school district has a rule that each child must carry a small survival kit around their neck while in transit.

Question–Does anyone have any suggestions other than the ones I see on ebay and amazon? I would prefer ones that had actual usable components. The old ones consisted of a trash bag sized tube tent and a 5 cent compass with a candle…..

Thanks in advance…"

#299749 - 08/18/21 12:48 AM Re: Special Ed teacher needing neck survival kits [Re: jshannon]
jshannon Offline
Addict

Loc: North Texas
Medical- medical ID card, first aid kit for wounds
Shelter- sol emergency blanket
Fire-
Hydration- collapsible cup with aqua tabs
Communication- whistle, ?signal mirror
Navigation- compass, small led light
Nutrition- roll of lifesavers or jolly ranchers
Insulation- they are probably wearing it if Alaska
Sun protection- emergency blanket
Tools-

Edited by jshannon (08/18/21 12:49 AM)

#299750 - 08/18/21 02:49 AM Re: Special Ed teacher needing neck survival kits [Re: jshannon]
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
I would not waste my money on the usual preassembled survival kit. You can easily do better by assembling the kit yourself. in fact, I just finished an REI sponsored session on the gear for emergency preparedness in which the instructor also had a negative view of those kits.

How many do you need? one for each kid or just a few for those who might be in transit together? This could be a good class project...