Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#68203 - 06/24/06 05:28 PM urban e&e
acropolis5 Offline
Enthusiast

Hello. I'm a newbie, but I've been a guest for years. Great site and contributors. My special interest is urban survival. sort of a"get me out of this building/tunnel and home "focus. My work and pleasure often take me into the city and into secure buidings. I hope to be a useful addition to the Forum. My first question is: does anyone have any experience with a product named the Survival Straw, sold by Brigade Quartermasters ? I've been relying on it in my briefcase kit, but without any field experience. Second inquiry: now that Evac-u8 hoods have been recalled, anyone have a reasonably priced and sized alternative?

#68204 - 06/25/06 10:58 AM Re: urban e&e
JIM Offline
Old Hand

Loc: The Netherlands
Welcome to the forum!

First: why did you call the topic'' Urban e&e'' ? e&e stands for escape and evasion, but that's usually a militairy term and hasn't got much use in ''normal'' survival/preparedness, let alone urban survival.

About your question:

The survival straw: http://giardiaclub.com/survival-water-filter-straw/index.php

I have used something similair. It's pretty good, although I think that it hasn't got much use in the urban enviroment, or am I wrong?

I don't know a alternative for the Evac-u8 hoods, but I do know that you should make a good concideration between price/quality.
If that means spending more money, well I would spend it, because when you need it the hoods are the only thing between you walking away safely and you getting injured or worse from smoke inhalation.

Maybe it's possible to also ask your fellow-workers and family if they are also interested in hoods, then you can order more at once and get a discount?

Take care and welcome,

JIM

#68205 - 06/25/06 04:15 PM Re: urban e&e
widget Offline
Addict