Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11035 - 12/04/02 06:59 PM Altoids Tin alternative and greets from a newbie!
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hey, guys! I'm probably one of many that started looking at survival after 9/11. Anyway, I don't know if it's been mentioned before, but I've found an alternative for an Altoids tin for a PSK...Whitman's makes small gold-colored tins for their 1.75 oz. chocolate sampler. It is slightly more bulky than the Altoids tin, but I seem to be able to get more stuff in it than I could an Altoids tin. <br><br>I'm still quite new with kit assembly. Mine is primarily for an urban setting. I also carry a Photon Micro Loght II on my keys and a Leatherman Wave at all times. I'm a bit pressed for time to do a complete kit inventory, but among the items in there...<br><br>2 Jigsaw blades<br>Keychain size swiss army knife<br>"off-brand" LED flashlight<br>Pencil stub<br>paper<br>2 trick birthday candles<br>12 waterproof matches & striker<br>Mini Bic<br>length of twine<br>assorted safety pins<br>condom for water storage<br>water purification tablets<br><br>4 Band Aids<br>2 Neosporin packets<br>4 Pepto-Bismol chewables<br>8 Ibuprofen tablets<br><br>All this (and anything I may have overlooked) fits easily in the Whitman's Tin, with even a bit of room to spare!<br>I sealed the tin with electrical tape. Off the top of my head, one thing I would like to improve on is the paper - I could not find waterproof paper anywhere! Any suggestions on where I could look?<br><br>BTW....I work as a pharmacy technician...so if anyone has any pharmacy-related questions (relating to survival or otherwise) I'll do my best to answer them.

#11036 - 12/04/02 07:25 PM Re: Altoids Tin alternative and greets from a newbie!
Schwert Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Seattle, Washington