Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#299412 - 07/20/21 10:31 PM What have you been neglecting?
Bingley Offline
Veteran

Here's sort of an accountability thread. So much of our attention is on the gear that sometimes a forum like this feels like a shopping club. Let's talk about stuff like skills, practice, etc. -- things that don't require buying more gear. What have you been neglecting?

Here are some things I've been neglecting:

1. Skills, especially medically related. I took classes like Wilderness First Responder, gunshot wounds, CERT, SARTECH, Red Cross classes for professional rescuers (I'm not a pro rescuer). Because of my career, all of that has become just a distant memory. Now I don't even know what I can do. While my previous location put me within striking range of many such classes, my current location has very little. I'm not sure how to review this stuff and regain my skills. I feel like I could start by going over my old textbooks and notes.

2. Fitness. Again, work pressure. I've started working on it, and I think in a month or two I should be in a much better place. It's a big shock to your body if you're a sedentary office worker and you suddenly have to hike a few miles with a backpack.

3. Maintaining my gear. Recently I had to clean out some corroded batteries and update some expired stuff. (I took this chance to do some hands on testing. It seems many expired things still work perfectly fine.)

Edited by Bingley (07/20/21 11:27 PM)

#299413 - 07/20/21 10:43 PM Re: What have you been neglecting? [Re: Bingley]
Jeanette_Isabelle Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Nacogdoches, Texas
Originally Posted By: Bingley
2. Fitness. Again, work pressure. I've started working on it, and I think in a month or two I should be in a much better place. It's a big shock to your body if you're a sedentary office worker and you suddenly have to hike a few miles with a backpack.