Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#280215 - 04/03/16 02:09 PM Highly Flammable Zipper Pulls
hikermor Offline
Geezer in Chief
Geezer

Loc: southern Cal
http://www.exotac.com/tinderzip/

Interesting concept. Zipper pulls you install on your backpack or wherever. In an emergency, you use the flammable cordage to start a fire. Six inches of cord gives 60 seconds of flame, according to the website.

I have no experience with this gadget, but it looks reasonable. I have a couple of other Exotac products (Firesleeve and their large match box) and I am a happy camper (no other affiliation). It would be nice if they included a short bit of the cord so you could get some experience with the stuff before you face the ultimate emergency....

Edited by hikermor (04/03/16 02:14 PM)

#280216 - 04/04/16 01:41 AM Re: Highly Flammable Zipper Pulls [Re: hikermor]
Famdoc Offline

Loc: PA
A zipper pull broke on my EDC backpack.

A close inspection of the slider revealed a narrow opening on the zipper-closed end (hook shaped), to which the now broken tab had been attached.

Hmm, replace with a ranger band?

I cut a 1/4" wide piece of 1-1/4" bicycle inner tube, stretched it out quite thin, and slipped in into place. Perfect!

Well almost: There was hardly enough of a loop to easily grasp.

So, I cut off another identically sized piece and slipped it through the existing band, then back through itself, to link the two together. Being black, they are nearly unnoticeable.

I understand from this forum that these are quite good firestarters as well. Havent' taken the time to try it myself yet.

Intact zipper pulls could also have these attached to the holes many have on the wide end of the pull as well; for way less money than the alternative.

#280217 - 04/04/16 02:13 PM Re: Highly Flammable Zipper Pulls [Re: hikermor]
LCranston Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Nebraska
This is a bad idea waiting for a lawsuit.