The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#191431 - 12/21/09 01:47 PM Tow Line - Kept in Car
roberttheiii Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Connecticut, USA
I made this tow line last winter to keep in my car. The specs are as outlined in the attached doc. It has movable tubular webbing for chafe guard and the same webbing on ones loop. I figure I'll put the unprotected loop on my car which has fairly non-chaffing attachment points. It does not stretch much. Some people are against this because it results in sudden shock loads on the line and vehicle. They have a valid point, however, I like that little kinetic energy is stored, so if the line breaks it should mostly just fall to the ground.

I'm far from an expert on the matter of towing vehicles, but this seemed sufficient to pull my Subaru out of a snow bank, or hook up between trucks to assist one up an icy boat launch/ramp.

What do you folks carry for this purpose?

I didn't need this during the recent storm! +1 for Nokian WR2s wink

Attachments
tow-line-specs.pdf (2845 downloads)
Description: Specs

IMG00197.jpg

Description: Pic1

_Media Card_BlackBerry_pictures_IMG00198.jpg

Description: Pic2

Edited by roberttheiii (12/21/09 02:23 PM)
Edit Reason: Typo correction

#191439 - 12/21/09 02:36 PM Re: Tow Line - Kept in Car [Re: roberttheiii]
MostlyHarmless Offline
Old Hand

Loc: Norway
Really nice work on those splices!

I don't know much about rope strength, but a 9mm rope seems rather thin for towing purposes... I notice that most ropes sold are about twice as big, or maybe I'm confused on rope diameter... I'm sure more knowledgeable members will chime in on diameter / strength considerations.

I carry two, both are purpose bought for the job:

- One elastic with hooks on each end, will extend about 2-3 times its length. For towing you really want as much elastic as possible, if the rope isn't taut it will go under the rear vehicle and very likely snag on the wheels.