The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#183241 - 09/26/09 02:45 PM sleeping bag storage in car
Wheels Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Central Virginia
I keep a sleeping bag in my van (or two if traveling long distance with my wife). Since I use a wheelchair, my van is my plan if I get stranded; meaning, I plan on staying with it until the cavalry arrives. Currently I have a cheap Coleman that isn't very warm ... pretty much an indoor bag. It gets cold in NE Ohio so I'm looking to upgrade. I have very little camping experience but I've read that both down and synthetic bags should only be stored compressed for short periods of time because they'll lose their loft and, thus, some warmth. I'm only interested in a synthetic bag and I would compress it to fit in my mini-van with all my other stuff.

Any advice on the type of synthetic bag or long-term compressed storage (or other options)? Thanks.

I suppose I should be more specific with my question ... assuming I compress a synthetic sleeping bag - how much warmth would I lose and is there a synthetic material that's less affected by long-term compression?

Edited by Wheels (09/26/09 04:54 PM)
Edit Reason: To clarify

#183245 - 09/26/09 02:59 PM Re: sleeping bag storage in car [Re: Wheels]
Am_Fear_Liath_Mor Offline
Carpal Tunnel

I just use a new (made 27 years ago) British Army 58 Pattern feather Down sleeping bag for vehicle use.

It comes with a non pearmeable water proof base and can be used without a sleeping pad and is rated for -10C. The 58 pattern bag is also reasonably priced for the specification matching top end synthetic bags.

If you want something an synthetic again with a centre zip then the Snugpak SF range is compact (for synthetic) and warm for its weight.

#183246 - 09/26/09 03:04 PM Re: sleeping bag storage in car [Re: Am_Fear_Liath_Mor]
TeacherRO Offline
Carpal Tunnel