Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#183142 - 09/25/09 11:53 AM Journalist calling for interview
AmyGreen Offline
Stranger

I am a journalist in Orlando, Fla., and I am working on a story for Religion News Service about survivalism.

The story is about how survivalism is becoming more mainstream. I am searching for someone to interview, someone who is stockpiling supplies, gardening or preparing in some way to become self-sufficient in the face of possible disaster.

Religion News Service is a secular news wire service that provides stories to magazines and newspapers nationwide.

The person would have to be here in Central Florida. Please e-mail me at amybgreen@earthlink.net if you are interested. Thanks to Doug Ritter for inviting me to post here!

Amy Green

#183215 - 09/26/09 01:47 AM Re: Journalist calling for interview [Re: AmyGreen]
EMPnotImplyNuclear Offline
Enthusiast

I have learned that this is not a survivalist site.
Doug explains it in What Do You Mean, "Not A 'Survivalist' Site?"

Hi wink laugh

#183217 - 09/26/09 02:09 AM Re: Journalist calling for interview [Re: EMPnotImplyNuclear]
Russ Offline
Geezer

Loc: SOCAL
Assuming Doug invited her as she indicates, I'm sure Amy has already been vetted.
Quote:
A few decades ago, a survivalist was someone who was interested in the tools and methods used to survive in an emergency.
if she is using the survivalist term in its original intent, she's fine. The term applied to most of us here decades ago; now, not so much.

#183272 - 09/26/09 08:25 PM Re: Journalist calling for interview [Re: Russ]
Rodion Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Israel
Indeed. The whole point of the research appears to be the springing up of ETS-esque "maritime" communities dealing with citizen preparedness.

One thing I'd like to point out:
Quote: