Equipped To Survive Equipped To Survive® Presents
The Survival Forum
Where do you want to go on ETS?

Topic Options
#8809 - 09/01/02 01:33 PM HELP searching for knife sheath
Anonymous
Unregistered

Three years ago I was given a knife by one of my brothers. The reason: he lost the sheath for it and he told me I could have it because for him it became useless. <br><br>I made a sheath out of an old belt wrapped around around the knife and then taped it. It works fine only suddenly I became eager to look for the origional sheath. It just makes it look much better.<br><br><br>Description and Origin<br>The knife was purchased in Holland, I have no knowledge if avaliable here (GB) nor of its name (if it has a proper name) I did discover the name of the company and where it is stationed - "Linder Messer" Germany.<br>It's a fixed blade, blade alone being about 6" and has a full tang.<br> On the tang it got plastic plates with the tang running visible through the middle. The black plates cover about 3/4 of the handle the rest is metal. hundreds of diamond shapes are cut into the plastic plates for extra grip. It got two rivets to hold the plates on the tang. On one side of the handle it has a green emblem (diamond shaped) with (I think) the French sign of brotherhood.<br>There is a handguard on the lower side, shaped as a water drop. Just above the guard there is a ring wich stops the knife making a noise as it slides in the sheath. Above the ring the name of the company and origin is written.<br>There is only a small swag, about 1" and the point of the blade is above the centre line of the knife. As far as I know the blade is made from stainless steel. No part of the blade is serated.<br><br>I think the knife is quite popular with the Dutch scouts (please note, I'm not certain of this and so I don't want to give the Dutch scouts a bad reputation for carrying large knifes. I knew three people who owned the knife and were member of the Dutch scouts. Although they weren't issue