good 12v air compressor ?

Posted by: LazyJoe

good 12v air compressor ? - 03/02/07 04:29 PM

I am looking for a good 12v air compressor to carry in my vehicle. The only ones I can find in the local stores look
like something my 6yoa neighbor would use on his big-wheel.

crazy

HELP!

what's out there in the real world ?

Posted by: Boghog1

Re: good 12v air compressor ? - 03/02/07 04:51 PM

Viair (sp) makes an okay one, it depends on what you are looking to do with it. check the different off-road forums out there or do a google search for "on-board air"
Posted by: Rio

Re: good 12v air compressor ? - 03/02/07 05:19 PM

I have a "Master Flow Tsunami," which works pretty well. I picked it up on sale for $50 at a GI Joes (some of my friends found it for $25 at Baxters auto parts), the MSRP is about $70. I use it for airing up my tires after a day of Wheel'n and I've been quite impressed with it. I've heard rumors it can outperform some Viairs or other more expensive compressors. Bottom line is this compressor is a good compromise of cost and function.

Posted by: Alex

Re: good 12v air compressor ? - 03/02/07 09:28 PM

Well, Boghog1 is right, it depends on intended use of the compressor, your car, and your tires. I prefer to keep in my trunk a nonelectric foot pump just for emergencies (like to adjust pressure in the spare tire prior to its installation). Who knows how much juice left in the battery at the time of emergency?

Dirt-cheap and rock-reliable:

Posted by: ducktapeguy

Re: good 12v air compressor ? - 03/02/07 11:58 PM